#STRecruiting: Four #Gamecocks commitments selected for the South Carolina Shrine Bowl team; One #Clemson commitment on NC team

SC Shrine Bowlers and USC commitments L-R Kam Pringle, Josiah Thompson, Kelvin Hunter, Blake Franks

The Shrine Bowl teams were announced Sunday afternoon. Working with their TV partner out of Charlotte, the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas revealed the selections in an online broadcast featuring the two head coaches, Wayne Farmer for South Carolina and Johnny Sowell for North Carolina. The 86th annual Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas will be played on December 16th at Spartanburg High School.

Four members of the South Carolina team are committed to USC: offensive linemen Kam Pringle, Josiah Thompson and Blake Franks, and linebacker Kelvin Hunter. One Clemson commitment, PK Nolan Hauser, was picked for the North Carolina team. In all 21 players on the Sandlappers’ roster have made a college commitment.

Rosters for the Touchstone Cooperatives Energy Bowl this December 9th in Myrtle Beach will be announced on October 18th.

Following are the South Carolina selections (college commitment)


  • Javion Martin, Crestwood
  • Matthew Wilson, Rock Hill (Appalachian State)

Running Backs

  • Traevon Dunbar, Midland Valley
  • Dashun Reeder, Christ Church (Northwestern)
  • Turbo Richard, Northwestern (Boston College)

Wide Receivers

  • Christian Zachary, Calhoun County (Virginia)
  • Yannick Smith, Summerville, (East Carolina)
  • Jimmar Boston, Westside (NC State)
  • Braylon Staley, Strom Thurmond (Tennessee)
  • Will Young, Brookland-Cayce
  • Avery McFadden, Hillcrest

Tight Ends

  • Bryce Rothwell, Lucy Beckham
  • Hasan Lee, White Knoll

Offensive Line

  • Kam Pringle, Woodlands (USC)
  • Josiah Thompson, Dillon (USC)
  • Blake Franks, Greenville (USC)
  • Julius Tate, Greenville (North Carolina)
  • Watson Young, Daniel (Appalachian State)
  • Slayton Stokes, Hartsville
  • Brady Pickett, Myrtle Beach (Citadel)
  • Jake Buerk, Gaffney


  • Coleman Franzone, James Island

Defensive Line

  • Jayden Fuller, Silver Bluff (Miami of Ohio)
  • Jordan Boyd, Silver Bluff (Georgia Tech)
  • Marcus Downs, Riverside (Georgia Tech)
  • Shaikh Thompson, Hilton Head
  • Jarriel Jeffries, Gaffney
  • Lorenzo Pressley, Lake City
  • Timir Hickman-Collins, Indian Land (Florida State)
  • Jamaris Stevens, Strom Thurmond


  • Terry Grant, West Ashley
  • Omari Jackson, Belton-Honea Path
  • Kelvin Hunter, West Florence (USC)
  • Antonio Hopkins, Chester
  • Caleb Strese, Gilbert
  • Jayden Kimble, White Knoll

Defensive Backs

  • Zay Johnson, Clinton (Cincinnati)
  • Troy Stevenson, Phillip Simmons (Georgia Tech)
  • Zantwan Nelson, South Pointe
  • Jauron Bennett, Sumter
  • Tyler Jones, Dutch Fork
  • Debo Hall, York
  • Demario Bookhart, Spartanburg
  • Quay’Sheed Scott, Marion (Kentucky)

Coaching Staff

  • Wayne Farmer (Head coach), Calhoun County
  • Russell Blackston, Belton-Honea Path
  • Chad Leaphart, Gilbert
  • Victor Floyd, Chester
  • Rusty Charpia, Brookland-Cayce
  • Carlisle Koonts, Hartsville (assistant)
  • James Breland, Sumter (assistant)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.