South makes it three straight with thrilling 20-17 win over North in Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl (AUDIO); Sneed wins Mr. Football

USC commitment Demetrius Watson was a force in the middle for the South defense Saturday (Travis Bell/Touchstone Energy)

The all-stars were back in Myrtle Beach Saturday for the 72nd Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl at Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium, and they did not disappoint the large crowd that turned out. The South, on a 36-yard field goal by North Augusta’s Drew Stevens, defeated the North for the third straight game 20-17. The North leads the overall series 39-31-2.

The South built a 17-3 lead in the third quarter thanks to a pair of Ryan Burger (Myrtle Beach) touchdown passes and a 38-yard Stevens field goal. The North drew to within 17-10 after a 32-yard scoop and score by Dumkele Idehen of Indian Land midway thru the third quarter.

The North tied the game early in the fourth quarter on a 29-yard pass from Daniel’s Trent Pearman to Chapman’s DJ Black and appeared on the way to victory after a short South punt set them up at the South 30-yard line with 5:13 to play. But Gaffney’s Tyler Smith fumbled on third down, and Camden’s Tevin Eley grabbed the loose ball and raced down the field until finally tackled at the North 10. Three plays went nowhere, and Stevens booted his winning kick into a 13 MPH wind with 1:52 left.

The North had one final possession, but it died on downs with a sack of Pearman at the North 15th.

Final Offensive Stats

Final Defensive Stats

The nation’s leading rusher KJ Adams of Gray Collegiate flashed his skills Saturday (Travis Bell/Touchstone Energy)

Scott Earley postgame interview with South coach Art Craig

Scott Earley postgame interview with North coach Wayne Farmer

Scott Earley interviews the game MVPs

At halftime of Saturday’s game, Hilton head LB Jaylen Sneed was named the winner of the Mr. Football Award in SC for 2021. He’s the 27th winner of the award and the 8th on the defensive side. The other finalists were RB KZ Adams of Gray Collegiate, QB Will Mattison of Northwestern, QB Trent Pearman of Daniel and WR Adam Randall of Myrtle Beach.

Bob Pauling presents Jaylen Sneed with the Mr. Football Award Saturday afternoon (Travis Bell/Touchstone Energy)

Bob Pauling announces Mr. Football winner, Scott Earley interviews with Sneed

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.