Five named finalists for Mr. Football in South Carolina for 2020 (AUDIO)

Gaffney DT Tyrion Ingram-Dawkins a finalist for Mr. Football

This is an abnormal high school football season in South Carolina with Covid-19 shortening the season and causing the cancellation of the Shrine Bowl and the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl North-South Game. But one tradition remains untouched, the selection of Mr. Football in South Carolina. Wednesday night on SportsTalk, Shell Dule, the Executive Director of the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Association, announced this season’s five finalists. The winner will be announced at one of the state championship games in December.

Shell Dula announces the Mr. Football finalists:

The Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl announces five finalists for the South Carolina Mr. Football award. On Wednesday, Oct. 28, the South Carolina Athletic Coaches Association selected the finalists for the 2020 Mr. Football award. All five players will be recognized in early December, followed by the introduction of this year’s award recipient. The date and venue of the announcement will be published in the coming weeks. 

Finalists for the 2020 Mr. Football award are:

  • Ty’rion Ingram-Dawkins, DT

Gaffney High School


  • Ahmad Green, QB

May River High School


  • Gregory Johnson, III, OLB, MLB

Northwestern High School

Committed to Army

  • Willis Lane, RB

Camden High School


  • Robbie Outzs, TE, P

Rock Hill High School

Committed to The University of Alabama

Former recipients of South Carolina’s Mr. Football award

                                                                High School                        College

1995       Jermale Kelley, WR          Berea                                 South Carolina

1996       Kyle Young, OL                  Daniel                              Clemson   

1997       Chris Hope, DB                  Rock Hill                          Florida State

1998       Derek Watson, RB            Palmetto                           South Carolina

1999       Mark Logan, QB                Greenwood                      Georgia Tech     

2000       Roscoe Crosby, WR          Union                               Clemson             

2001       Moe Thompson, DE         Stratford                            South Carolina  

2002       Eric McCollom, QB           Camden                            Iowa     

2003       Trey Elder, QB                    Byrnes                             Appalachian State           

2004       J.D. Melton, QB                 Myrtle Beach                    Navy     

2005       Prince Miller, DB               Byrnes                             Georgia  

2006       Malcolm Long, QB            Gaffney                            South Carolina State      

2007       Richard Mounce, QB       Blythewood                       Charleston Southern     

2008       Stephon Gilmore, CB      South Pointe                      South Carolina

2009       Marcus Lattimore, RB     Byrnes                                South Carolina

2010       Jadeveon Clowney, DE   South Pointe                     South Carolina  

2011       Shaq Roland, WR              Lexington                        South Carolina  

2012      Tramel Terry, WR             Goose Creek                    Georgia

2013       Jacob Park, QB                   Stratford                       Georgia

2014       Matthew Colburn, RB     Dutch Fork                        Wake Forest

2015       Tavien Feaster, RB           Spartanburg                    Clemson

2016       Gage Moloney, QB          Northwestern                   James Madison

2017       Dakereon Joyner, QB      Fort Dorchester                South Carolina

2018       Zacch Pickens, DE             T.L. Hanna                     South Carolina

2019       Luke Doty, QB                    Myrtle Beach                 South Carolina

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.