April 17, 2014

Former Clemson QB Chad Kelly issues apology

Chad Kelly [File Photo]

Former Tiger QB Chad Kelly [File Photo]

Story by Daniel Schwartz

The family of former Clemson quarterback Chad Kelly released a statement Wednesday following his abrupt dismissal from the football team earlier this week.

“I have apologized to the coaching staff for my behavior.  I am disappointed in myself. I let down not only my coaches, and teammates, but also Clemson University and all of our fans. Most importantly, I’ve let down myself and my family.”

“I have always been competitive to a fault, winning at all costs. I let my emotions get the best of me, culminating in this unfortunate situation with coach Swinney and the Clemson Tigers.”

“What’s important now is that I use this experience to grow as a student, as an athlete, and most importantly, as a man. Right now, I’m optimistic about the future. It’s not going to be easy, but no matter what happens, I’ll be a better person both on and off the field.”

Kelly, a redshirt sophomore, had been competing with senior Cole Stoudt for the starting quarterback position throughout spring practice. He struggled however during the annual Orange and White game on Saturday throwing two interceptions before finding himself on the bench in the second half for arguing with his coaches.

Head Coach Dabo Swinney announced Monday that he had dismissed Kelly from Clemson’s football team for “conduct detrimental” to the program.

#22 Clemson clips Coastal Carolina (VIDEO)

Clemson is back on track.

Clemson is back on track.

Garrett Boulware and Tyler Krieger tied their career highs with four hits apiece to lead No. 20 Clemson to a 9-6 win over Coastal Carolina at a chilly Doug Kingsmore Stadium on Tuesday night. It was the first meeting between the Tigers (21-14) and Chanticleers (17-21) since 2012.

Boulware belted a solo homer, his fourth long ball of the year, in the first inning to give the Tigers a 1-0 lead, then the Tigers broke a 1-1 tie with four runs in the third inning, highlighted by Chris Okey’s two-run double. Coastal Carolina rallied with three unearned runs on one hit in the top of the sixth inning to tie the score 5-5, but Steven Duggar’s two-out, run-scoring single in the bottom of the sixth inning gave Clemson the lead for good.

Freshman righthander Drew Moyer (2-0) earned the win by tossing 1.1 hitless and scoreless innings in relief. Clay Bates pitched 2.0 innings to record his first career save. Chanticleer reliever Brock Hunter (0-1) suffered the loss.

The Tigers travel to Pittsburgh this weekend to face the Panthers in the first-ever meeting between the two schools. The series begins Friday at 6 p.m. on ESPN3.

Clemson’s next home game is Tuesday, April 22 at 6:30 p.m. against Liberty. Fans can obtain free tickets for the game by filling out a short form on ClemsonTigers.com. The voucher is good for all immediate family members. Forms are also available at the Athletic Ticket Office and at the gates on gameday. Fans not wishing to complete the form can purchase a ticket for $5 by visiting the Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 1-800-CLEMSON beginning Thursday. Season ticket holders will be admitted at no charge whether they participate or not, but their responses would be helpful. All seats for the game are general admission.


Story and video via ClemsonTigers.com


Swinney says Stoudt is the guy to start the season

Stoudt will be the starter at Georgia

Stoudt will be the starter at Georgia

Clemson coach Dabo Swinney doesn’t plan to tell his team officially until a meeting on Monday morning, but Tuesday he told Fox Sports that senior Cole Stoudt will be the Tigers’ starting quarterback when they open the season at Georgia.

“It should be pretty obvious that he won the job,” Swinney said. “He’s a great leader who is highly respected by his teammates. He never once complained. He was always ready when we needed him. He’s earned it and he will be named the starter.”

Stoudt was pushed in the spring by Chad Kelly and true freshman Deshaun Watson.  But Kelly was dismissed from the team Monday and Watson suffered a broken collarbone late in spring practice.

Stoudt has limited experience as the three year backup to Tajh Boyd, but in the interview Swinney said Stoudt has his own strengths in comparison to the record setting Boyd.

“The thing that people might not realize about Cole is that he actually runs better than Tajh,” Swinney said. “He may be tall and appear to be a bit gangly, but he can run really well.  The thing I like about Cole is that he’s very disciplined.  He lives by the motto that, ‘You don’t ever go broke by making a profit.’ If it’s just a simple check down that the defense will give him, he will take it. He doesn’t force anything, he’ll just keep moving the chains.”

Swinney made his comments to reporter Coy Wire of Fox Sports.

Clemson’s Swinney announces Kelly’s dismissal from team

Chad Kelly has thrown his last pass for Clemson

Chad Kelly has thrown his last pass for Clemson

Clemson Head Football Coach Dabo Swinney announced Monday that he has dismissed quarterback Chad Kelly from the school’s football team.”I have dismissed Chad Kelly for conduct detrimental to our program,” said Swinney. “He has had a pattern of behavior that is not consistent with the values of our program. I hope he will mature and grow from this and become the man and player I know he can be. I wish him nothing but the best in the future academically and athletically.”

Kelly red-shirted the 2012 season, then suffered a torn ACL in the 2013 Spring Game. But, he came back to play by the September 7 S.C. State game. He played in five games overall in 2013 and was 10-17 passing for 58 yards. He added 16 rushes for 117 yards and a touchdown, including 56 yards on seven rushes at Virginia.

The native of Niagara Falls, N.Y. was in a three-way competition at quarterback this spring along with senior Cole Stoudt and freshman Deshaun Watson. Kelly completed 10-18 passes for 113 yards, but threw a pair of interceptions in the April 12 Spring Game.

Clemson Sports Information Release


Filer to leave Clemson basketball program after two seasons

Filer is leaving Clemson

Filer is leaving Clemson

Adonis Filer intends to transfer from Clemson following the spring semester, Head Coach Brad Brownell announced Sunday. Filer played in 66 career games at Clemson and produced 332 points and 89 assists over two seasons.

“We thank Adonis for the hard work he has given to our program these past two seasons,” Brownell said. “We wish him the best in the future.”

Filer averaged 3.9 points per game in 2013-14, appearing in all but one game for the Tigers. The sophomore guard shot 79 percent from the free throw line and was second on the team with 23 steals.

“I learned a lot in Coach Brownell’s system,” Filer said. “He taught me how to be a better player. I will miss my teammates; we grew to be friends and are like brothers. I wish them nothing but success next season and beyond.”