#Gamecocks dominate SEC postseason awards

The postseason awards have started to roll in for the top ranked USC women’s basketball team, starting with SEC honors. Dawn Staley is the Coach of the Year, Aliyah Boston is the Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year, and Kamilla Cardosa is the Sixth Woman of the Year.

For Staley, it’s the sixth time she’s won coach of the year. Boston won her second POY Award and the defensive award for the fourth time.

Boston and guard Zia Cooke were named to the First Team of the All-SEC Team.

The Gamecocks ran through the regular season undefeated and claimed another SEC Championship. They will begin postseason play Friday in the SEC Tournament in Greenville.

First Team All-SEC

Brittany Davis, Alabama                                         

Alexis Morris, LSU                                                   

Angel Reese, LSU                                                                  

Angel Baker, Ole Miss                                            

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina                               

Zia Cooke, South Carolina                                      

Jordan Horston, Tennessee                                    

Rickea Jackson, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Erynn Barnum, Arkansas                                                      

Aicha Coulibaly, Auburn                                         

Diamond Battles, Georgia                                      

Madison Scott, Ole Miss                                        

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State                            

Hayley Frank, Missouri                                           

Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina

Ciaja Harbison, Vanderbilt


Saylor Poffenbarger, Arkansas   

Flau’jae Johnson, LSU    

Sa’Myah Smith, LSU      

Debreasha Powe, Mississippi State         

Ashton Judd, Missouri   

Raven Johnson, South Carolina  

Janiah Barker, Texas A&M

Sydney Bowles, Texas A&M          


Diamond Battles, Georgia

Angel Reese, LSU           

Madison Scott, Ole Miss

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State

Brea Beal, South Carolina

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina    

Player of the Year – Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year – Flau’jae Johnson, LSU

Defensive Player of the Year – Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year – Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Hannah Barber, Alabama

Coach of the Year – Dawn Staley, South Carolina

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.