#Clemson forward Hunter Tyson named First Team All-ACC

Clemson forward Hunter Tyson was named 1st Team All-ACC Monday (Clemson Athletics)

The ACC announced their postseason basketball awards, and two Clemson players were named to the All-Conference Team. Graduate forward Hunter Tyson was selected for the first team, and junior forward PJ Hall was named to the third team.

Tyson also received four points in voting for the ACC Player of the Year. That honor went to Miami guard Isiah Wong. The Coach of the Year award went to Jeff Capel of Pitt with Clemson’s Brad Brownell finishing third in the voting with six points.

This marks Tyson’s first career All-ACC honor. Tyson is having a career year this season. He is averaging a team-best 15.7 points and 9.5 rebounds per game while shooting 48.6 percent from the floor, 41.3 percent from three and 83.8 percent at the free throw line. In league play, he’s been even better. He averaged 16.4 points and 9.9 rebounds while shooting 50.5 percent and 84.3 percent at the charity stripe.

Hall spent most of the first half of the season getting back going after undergoing two offseason surgeries but has since returned to the All-ACC form that Clemson fans are accustomed to.

Hall is team’s second-leading scorer (15.5) and second-leading rebounder (5.6) this season. In ACC play he leads the team in scoring (17.6) and is second in rebounds (6.6). Hall is shooting 54.0 percent from the floor in league games, including 38.6 from three and 83.3 at the line.

2022-23 ACC Award Winners

All-ACC Team

First Team

Isaiah Wong, Miami, 337

Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 324

Tyree Appleby, Wake Forest, 319

Hunter Tyson, Clemson, 271

Jamarius Burton, Pitt, 262

Second Team

Kyle Filipowski, Duke, 258

Terquavion Smith, NC State, 243

Jarkel Joiner, NC State, 203

Jordan Miller, Miami, 148

Blake Hinson, Pitt, 132

Third Team

Norchad Omier, Miami, 131

PJ Hall, Clemson, 126

Kihei Clark, Virginia, 102

Jesse Edwards, Syracuse, 54

Reece Beekman, Virginia, 54

Honorable Mention

El Ellis, Louisville, 50

Grant Basile, Virginia Tech, 43

Judah Mintz, Syracuse, 40

Jeremy Roach, Duke, 35

Quinten Post, Boston College, 33

Jayden Gardner, Virginia, 31

RJ Davis, North Carolina, 26

DJ Burns Jr., NC State, 24

Caleb Love, North Carolina, 21

Note: All-ACC Team points are determined on a 5-3-1 system (five points for first team, three points for second team, one point for third team).

Player of the Year

Isaiah Wong, Miami, 30 votes

Tyree Appleby, Wake Forest, 23

Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 9

Hunter Tyson, Clemson, 4

Kyle Filipowski, Duke, 3

Jamarius Burton, Pitt, 3

Jarkel Joiner, NC State, 2

Jeremy Roach, Duke, 1

Rookie of the Year

Kyle Filipowski, Duke, 68 votes

Judah Mintz, Syracuse, 7

All-Defensive Team

Reece Beekman, Virginia, 63 votes

Jesse Edwards, Syracuse, 56

Leaky Black, North Carolina, 55

Dereck Lively II, Duke, 45

Kihei Clark, Virginia, 26

All-Freshman Team

Kyle Filipowski, Duke, 75 votes

Judah Mintz, Syracuse, 72

Tyrese Proctor, Duke, 51

JJ Starling, Notre Dame, 39

Dereck Lively II, Duke, 39

Coach of the Year

Jeff Capel, Pitt, 57 votes

Jim Larrañaga, Miami, 8

Brad Brownell, Clemson, 6

Kevin Keatts, NC State, 2

Tony Bennett, Virginia, 2

Defensive Player of the Year

Reece Beekman, Virginia, 29 votes

Leaky Black, North Carolina, 18

Jesse Edwards, Syracuse, 13

Dereck Lively II, Duke, 6

Federiko Federiko, Pitt, 3

Ja’von Franklin, Georgia Tech, 3

Justyn Mutts, Virginia Tech, 2

Norchad Omier, Miami, 1

Most Improved Player

Quinten Post, Boston College, 23 votes

Sean Pedulla, Virginia Tech, 14

Jordan Miller, Miami, 14

Chase Hunter, Clemson, 10

Cameron Hildreth, Wake Forest, 3

Casey Morsell, NC State, 3

Wooga Poplar, Miami, 3

Jesse Edwards, Syracuse, 2

JJ Traynor, Louisville, 1

Federiko Federiko, Pitt, 1

Jeremy Roach, Duke, 1

Sixth Man of the Year

Nike Sibande, Pitt, 47 votes

Ben Vander Plas, Virginia, 8

Ryan Young, Duke, 7

Dariq Whitehead, Duke, 6

Bensley Joseph, Miami, 3

Deivon Smith, Georgia Tech, 2

Devin McGlockton, Boston College, 2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.