SEC Media has taken notice of USC’s Javon Kinlaw (Sideline Carolina, Travis Bell)

The 2019 SEC Media poll was released Friday following the conclusion of the SEC Media Days in Hoover, AL. Alabama was the overwhelming selection to repeat as conference champions, followed by Georgia.

South Carolina was selected fourth in the East behind Georgia, Florida and Missouri. A large percentage of the votes for the champion came in for traditional powers, but LSU received three votes and the Gamecocks received a single vote. If the projections hold, Georgia would meet Alabama in the SEC Championship for the third time. Alabama has won both of the previous meetings for the title, including last year’s 35-28 victory in Atlanta.

The Gamecocks also landed two players on the All-SEC teams: DT Javon Kinlaw was chosen as part of the SEC’s preseason 2nd team and senior WR Bryan Edwards was selected on the 3rd team. Both Kinlaw and Edwards played their high school football along the coast of South Carolina. Kinlaw is out of Goose Creek High School, while Edwards is out of Conway High School.

The 6’6″ Kinlaw has flashed brilliance in his time with the Gamecocks, using his long arms to force fumbles, disrupt ball carriers, deflect passes and block two kicks. If fully healthy, Kinlaw is expected to have his breakout season. Kinlaw has also been named to the preseason watch list for the Bednarik Award, given annually to the nation’s top defensive player.

Bryan Edwards is on pace to break some major receiving records at South Carolina. A model of consistency, Edwards has caught a pass in every game in which he has appeared. If he duplicates his numbers from a season ago, the 6’3″ target will be the Gamecocks’ all-time leader in receptions and receiving yards. He needs eight touchdown grabs to break the mark for touchdown catches, also. In addition to his recognition from the SEC media, Edwards has recently been named to the preseason watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation’s top receiver. 

South Carolina was chosen second in the 2018 preseason poll, but finished fourth behind Georgia, Florida and Kentucky.

EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Georgia (233) 1789
Florida (21) 1499
Missouri (3) 1149
South Carolina (1) 883
Tennessee (1) 804
Kentucky (1) 798
Vanderbilt 358

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Alabama (253) 1813
LSU (5) 1493
Texas A&M 1268
Auburn (1) 1090
Mississippi State (1) 769
Ole Miss 504
Arkansas 343


Alabama 203
Georgia 49
Mississippi State 1
Tennessee 1
Florida 1
South Carolina 1
Auburn 1


QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB Najee Harris, Alabama
WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
WR Henry Ruggs III, Alabama
TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
OL Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn
OL Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama
C Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU

QB Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt
RB Lamical Perine, Florida
WR Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt
WR Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
TE Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt
OL Solomon Kindley, Georgia
OL Damien Lewis, LSU
OL Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri
OL Isaiah Wilson, Georgia
C Darryl Williams, Mississippi State

QB Joe Burrow, LSU
RB Larry Rountree, Missouri
RB JaTarvious Whitlow, Auburn
WR Justin Jefferson, LSU
WR Bryan Edwards, South Carolina
TE *Miller Forristall, Alabama
TE *Charlie Woerner, Georgia
OL Deonte Brown, Alabama
OL Ben Cleveland, Georgia
OL Logan Stenberg, Kentucky
OL Matt Womack, Alabama
C Drake Jackson, Kentucky

DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama
DL Derrick Brown, Auburn
DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU
DL Jabari Zuniga, Florida
LB Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
LB Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
DB Grant Delpit, LSU
DB J.R. Reed, Georgia
DB Trevon Diggs, Alabama
DB C.J. Henderson, Florida

DL Nick Coe, Auburn
DL Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M
DL Marlon Davidson, Auburn
DL Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina
LB Cale Garrett, Missouri
LB De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
LB David Reese II, Florida
DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama
DB Xavier McKinney, Alabama
DB Kristian Fulton, LSU
DB Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State

DL LaBryan Ray, Alabama
DL McTelvin Agim, Arkansas
DL Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State
DL Tyler Clark, Georgia
LB Terrell Lewis, Alabama
LB Jacob Phillips, LSU
LB Kash Daniel, Kentucky
DB DeMarkus Acy, Missouri
DB Shyheim Carter, Alabama
DB Richard LeCounte, Georgia
DB Daniel Thomas, Auburn

P Braden Mann, Texas A&M
PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
RS Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
AP Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

P Tommy Townsend, Florida
PK Anders Carlson, Auburn
RS Marquez Callaway, Tennessee
AP Kadarius Toney, Florida

P Arryn Siposs, Auburn
PK Evan McPherson, Florida
RS Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M
AP Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

* – Indicates a tie