North Carolina’s Mack Brown

North Carolina head coach Mack Brown addressed the media at the ACC Kickoff in Charlotte, Thursday. Brown returns to North Carolina after winning the 2005 national championship at Texas and a detour into television broadcasting. Brown was 69-46 with the Tar Heels from 1988-1997. Each of his last two seasons in Chapel Hill produced ten wins.

Brown takes over for Larry Fedora and inherits a team that won just two games a season ago and was just 1-7 in conference play. Coach Brown hopes to combine the passing concepts of the Air Raid offense with the power run game that led to success in his first tenure at UNC.

Coach Brown addressed a variety of topics from the podium including why he returned to coaching, why he chose the Air Raid offense, how the landscape of the ACC has changed and why he retired from Texas.

North Carolina Tar Heels          2-9                   1-7

Mack Brown 1st season*           0-0                   0-0                  *Coached UNC from 1988-97

  2018 ACC Rank NCAA Rank
Points Per game 27.4 11 78
Rushing Yards per game 193.0 6 44
Passing yards per game 249.1 6 48
Total yards per game 442.1 5 31
Points allowed per game 34.5 13 107
Rushing yards allowed per game 218.8 13 111
Passing yards allowed per game 228.8 9 64
Total yards allowed per game 447.6 12 105

The Tar Heels return 13 starters; 6 on offense, and 7 on defense.

Statistical Leaders Returning

RB Games Yards TD AVG
Antonio Williams 9 635 5 5.9
WR Games Yards TD REC
Dazz Newsome 11 602 3 44
  Tackles TFL INT Sacks
Tomon Fox 27 8.5 0 2.5
Jason Strowbridge 36 8.0 0 5.0
Dominique Ross 47 3.5 0 0.5
Trey Morrison 46 5.5 0 2.0
Myles Dorn 54 2.5 2 0

Returning Starters Offense                                          

RB Antonio Williams

WR Dazz Newsome

TE Carl Tucker

LT Charlie Heck

LG Nick Polino

RG Billy Ross

Returning Starters Defense

DE Tomon Fox

DT Jason Strowbridge

LB Dominique Ross

CB Patrice Rene

CB/S Trey Morrison

S Myles Wolfolk

S Myles Dorn

Key Losses

QB Nathan Elliott

WR Anthony Ratliff-Williams

LT William Sweet

DE Malik Carney

DE Tyler Powell

LB Cole Holcomb

S J.K. Britt

K Freeman Jones