SC Athletic Hall of Fame announces new class

From SC Athletic Hall of Fame

Clemson’s Chris Gardocki, who punted for 16 NFL seasons, and women’s basketball coach Nancy Wilson of Lake City highlight the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame’s Induction Class of 2019.

The class also features USC defensive lineman John Abraham of Lamar High, Clemson baseball player Shane Monahan, linebacker Dexter Coakley of Mt. Pleasant and Appalachian State, USC-Aiken and former major league pitcher Roberto Hernandez, and high-scoring basketball standout Miriam Walker-Samuels of Claflin College. 

The enshrinement of Hernandez and Walker-Samuels into the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame are the first inductees for their respective colleges.

The seven individuals will be forever enshrined with the Palmetto State’s highest athletic honor on Monday, May 13 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Tickets (table of eight for $600) and program sponsorships are available by securing a table from the SCAHOF office 803/779-0905. Payment and reservations must be made by Friday, April 12.

The SCAHOF Banquet is the largest annual celebration of Palmetto State sports stars under one roof. The traditional introduction of past inductees, the Walk of Legends, is one of the event’s highlights and more information may be secured at

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.