November 24, 2015

Breitenstein comes up short in Payton Award voting

Eric Breitenstein (Photo Credit, Wofford)

Wofford star running back Eric Breitenstein finished third in the voting for the Walter Payton Award which goes annually to the top player in the FCS division.

Old Dominion sophomore quarterback Taylor Heinicke was announced as the national player of the year at a dinner in Philadelphia Monday night. He’s the ninth straight quarterback to win the award.  Heinicke received nearly half of the first place votes from a nationwide panel.

Miguel Maysonet of Stony Brook was second in the balloting.

Breitenstein set a Wofford record with 2035 rushing yards this season.  He was the Southern Conference Offensive Player of the Year each of the past two seasons.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page