December 1, 2015

Breitenstein, Williams, Sellers named FCS first team All-Americans

Wofford’s Eric Breitenstein was named a FCS first team All-American for the third straight season

Wofford senior fullback Eric Breitenstein, Furman senior running back/kick returner Jerodis Williams, and Citadel junior offensive lineman Mike Sellers were named to the FCS All-America first team on Monday.  This is the third consecutive season Breitenstein was listed on the first team, while this is the first time for Williams.

Breitenstein set a school record for rushing yards this season with 2,035 yards and had 19 rushing touchdowns (led the Southern Conference in both).  He was also named the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Williams ran for 1,170 yards and 11 touchdowns this season, but was selected to the first team for his kick returning skills.  He led the FCS with 35.9 yards per kickoff return, and had two 100-yard kickoffs returned for touchdowns.

Sellers led the Bulldogs with 75 pancake blocks and anchored the offensive line and rushing attack that averaged 300.6 yards per game.  He also did not allow a sack this season.

Furman junior offensive lineman Dakota Dozier was named as a second team All-American, and Coastal sophomore linebacker Quinn Backus was named to the third team.

The entire first team is listed below:

QB – Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, So., 6-1, 195

RB – Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook, Sr., 5-10, 205; Zach Zenner, South Dakota State, So., 6-0, 215

FB – Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr., 5-11, 230

WR – Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois, Jr., 5-10, 181; Aaron Mellette, Elon, Sr., 6-4, 220

TE – A.C. Leonard, Tennessee State, So., 6-4, 245

OL – Michael Bamiro, Stony Brook, Jr., 6-8, 345; Mike Sellers, The Citadel, Jr., 6-0, 295; Billy Turner, North Dakota State, Jr., 6-6, 300; Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr., 6-4, 290; Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State, Jr., 6-7, 300

AP – Walter Powell, Murray State, Jr., 6-0, 180

PK – Patrick Murray, Fordham, Sr., 5-7, 160

KR – Jerodis Williams, Furman, Sr., 5-11, 195

DE – Caleb Schreibeis, Montana State, Sr., 6-3, 252; Colton Underwood, Illinois State, Jr., 6-4, 255

DT – Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-4, 300; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Sr., 6-2, 300

LB – Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr., 6-0, 226; Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Sr., 5-11, 240; Robert McCabe, Georgetown, Sr., 6-2, 230; Jody Owens, Montana State, Sr., 6-0, 223

DB – Jaquiski Tartt, Samford, So., 6-1, 220; Cooper Taylor, Richmond, Sr., 6-5, 235; Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr., 6-0, 195; Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, DB, Jr., 5-11, 194

P – Andy Wilder, Northern Arizona, Jr., 6-3, 205

PR – Dominic Gunn, Northern Colorado, Sr., 5-11, 170

Print pagePDF pageEmail page