October 10, 2015

Big South, SoCon announce award winners

Wofford’s Eric Breitenstein was named the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year

By: Rixon Lane

Both the Big South and Southern Conference announced their league awards and all-conference squads  today.

Coastal Carolina linebacker Quinn Backus was named the Big South Defensive Player of the Year. In addition, Chanticleer head coach Joe Moglia was tabbed as the Coach of the Year. Coastal quarterback Aramis Hillary was the runner-up for Offensive Player of the Year. Coastal Carolina won a share of the Big South championship and earned the league’s automatic playoff berth. Eight Chanticleers were named first team all-conference.

In the Southern Conference, Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein was named the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Kevin Higgins of The Citadel was named the Co-Coach of the Year, along with Pat Sullivan of Samford.  Three Terriers were named to the Southern Conference first team. In addition, Furman placed four players on the all-conference first team and The Citadel had one first team selection.

For full lists of awards, click on the links below:



Print pagePDF pageEmail page